Daily Archives: April 29, 2010

Filling in the Blanks

I didn’t have the correct answer. But that’s nothing new.

Josi asked me about a part of her anatomy the other day in relation to becoming a Chinese woman. I was so glad that she sees herself as Chinese (yes!). This is so important.

Many of the past generation of children who have been adopted transracially struggle with a host of issues (which I won’t go into here other than to say if you’re interested, check out my website). Race, ethnicity and culture were rarely embraced or discussed in their predominately white-parented families.

Raising and parenting a child of another race and culture takes consciousness. Although my kids are my kids, their Asian and Hispanic attributes differ from my Caucasian ones.

So, when Josi inquired about the breasts of Chinese women, “…because you know Mom, I am Chinese,” (Yes!) I had to explain that she was going to differ quite a bit from me. And that’s the truth of it. There is beauty in every flower…

4 Comments

Filed under Adoptive Mom's Perspective, Growing Tweens & Teens, Identity, Multicultural Families, Racial idenity, The International Mom