When Mama’s Relaxed…

Like Mark, I take several days to unwind before I can embrace relaxing when we travel with the kids (I know, I know, travel with kids and relaxation is a dichotomy…). But this time was different. Vacation actually kicked-in before we hit the road, even though we had another seventeen year-old with us.

I was challenged by Mark not to write while we were on vacation. As hard as it is to admit, I needed to take a break.

Very difficult, but it turned out to be the best thing because I could turn off my head, sleep and replenish. Seems my resting follows along the lines of, “When Mama’s happy, everyone’s happy.” The difference was evident and the kids followed by example, embracing their time with one another and sleeping in.

Of course, the fact that I was available made me less “popular” with my four. Haven’t you found that your kids need you the most when you are the least accessible?

The “handsomes” (Holden and his friend) spent time sleeping, eating obscene amounts of food (as usual), networking with other vacationing teens (primarily of the female persuasion), and playing pick-up games of beach volleyball and soccer. I was lulled into a peaceful state as the South Carolina wet heat seeped into my body through my fingers that trailed through the waters of the estuary. Further contentment issued forth as I dug my toes into the fine warm sand, occasionally cooled by the Atlantic Ocean waves, or played a game of bocce with the kids.

Next year I’m leaving my computer. Yep…

2 Comments

Filed under Family, Multicultural Families, Parenting, The International Mom, Traditions, Travel

2 responses to “When Mama’s Relaxed…

  1. Good for you! I don’t think I could leave my computer behind though…I’m sure I’d start getting the shakes and go into some weird kind of withdrawl.

Leave a Reply

