The Best for You

I received a book from one of my internet colleagues, who happens to part of “the adoption triad.” The Best for You is written in a conversational first voice and from author Kelsey Stewart’s perspective as a birthmother. The Best for You book candidly and warmly speaks to the child who was adopted, answering the questions I have heard my children ask: “Why didn’t she keep me? and “Did she love me?”

I can’t tell you how delighted I was when Aubry sauntered by the kitchen counter and saw the book, backing up to pick it up and ask, “Can I read this?”

This is my child who has felt so much grief.  “Sure, honey,” I said.

The Best for You is written and illustrated for younger children (ages 4-7), but it has merit for the older child as well. Aubry was drawn in by Stewart’s wonderful illustrations. I love the positive message.

My bibliophilic daughter read the story quickly and then went through it more slowly the second time, pausing over the illustrations, touching them and absorbing the message. Aubry’s response? “It’s very good, Mama. She loved her baby and made her choice for her baby. You know, that’s what my birthmother did.”

For those of you, who have adopted, consider ordering a copy. And for those of you who know of someone who has adopted or is in the process, The Best for You will make a wonderful gift. Find out more here.

4 Comments

Filed under Adoption Issues, Adoptive Mom's Perspective, Growing Tweens & Teens, Identity, International Adoption, Multicultural Families, The International Mom

4 responses to “The Best for You

  1. Hi International Mom,
    I just recommended your site to Kelsey…and then come to find your review! Amazing! I love Kelsey’s book, too. And plan to do some book reviews this summer and include hers.

    Love your website and your children! Great posts!

  2. I have tears in my eyes. I am so appreciative of this review and so very touched by your daughter’s words. It is this kind of reaction that makes everything I do worth while. To hear that an adoptive child read it, enjoyed it so much she read it again, then told you exactly what it was that I was trying to convey, well that is the reason there are tears.

    Thank you so very much for this, and thank you for the beautiful description of the book.

Leave a Reply

