Honoring Moms with a Six Word Memoir

This is my mom, Liz (Lizzie to her grandkids). I wish you could have met her, but she passed away a month after Josi was born.

This picture is one of my favorites, because it captures the profound love and joy we had for one another. Every time I look at this picture I feel my mom, the remarkable way she had of being there in the moment, and how special she made me feel. This picture of us was snapped moments before I walked down the aisle to exchange vows with Mark.

My mom was and still is the most special woman in my life. And this is my six word memoir of some of what my mom taught me:

 Be open. Be positive. Embrace life.

Just in case you didn’t know, I am a columnist for the adoption network, Grown My Heart. GIMH, as we fondly refer to ourselves, is a group of writers who are connected to adoption—birth parent, surrogacy, attorney, foster parent, adoptive parent, adoptee, adoption professional, and more. We write from our perspectives, experiences and expertise. 

In honor of Mother’s Day and all mothers, GIMH is having a carnival. I am inviting YOU to participate. So, what do you have to do?

Winners will be selected on Wednesday the 12th. Good luck!

And to all of you moms out there, an early and very Happy Mother’s Day!

4 Comments

Filed under Family Celebrations, International Adoption, Multicultural Families, The International Mom

4 responses to “Honoring Moms with a Six Word Memoir

  1. Oh I love it!! Such similar expressions, and a special moment caught on film.

    And yes, I will call you soon! 14.5 days of school left. Not that I’m counting.

    • theinternationalmom

      This picture has been in our family room since it was taken. The kids took little notice of the photo until I posted it on this blog and it was in our local paper for the Chicken Soup interview. They kept saying how much we resembled each other, “You have the same dimples!”

  2. What a beautiful picture and I can just see the love between you!!!! What a wonderful memory!

  3. Peg(Friends in tents!)

    Judy –
    Loved the picture of you and your mom. You look so much like her! To two beautiful women. Thirty years ago this August she gave us a 12 qt. Cuisinart stockpot for a wedding gift. I always think of her when I cook. Your mom loved to cook – I miss her too. That stockpot is special to me because your mom gave it to us, AND it’s still the best cookware around – 30 years and counting!

Leave a Reply

