Trading Out

Recently, I took Holden on a two day college road trip. He brought along one of his buddies. I brought Aubry.

We stayed overnight in a wonderful small town. I was tired from getting up at 3:30 in the morning and driving in the rainy pitch-black morning for four hours.  Holden and Sinc were hungry and wanted to take the car to get some dinner. Holden had two days more days until the three-month driving moratorium expired. Legally, he couldn’t takeP7080050 anyone in the car with him under the age of twenty-one. Mark and I were holding to the law.

It was a safe town, so I told the boys to walk. They seemed antsy – even though they had walked most of the day. I sent them with what I thought would be enough money for their food and Aubry’s and mine.

 They were gone longer than I thought they should be. I called Holden. They were close and I could hear the laughter. “Mom, wait until you see my hair! I’ve got to tell you what happened!”

 Uh, oh. Goofy sixteen year-olds. Good, but their “teen-ness” sometimes wore on people.

 They arrived not five minutes later, with cold food and new haircuts.

 I know the boys didn’t have money for haircuts – it hadn’t been part of the plan.

 I didn’t get the chance to ask.

 “We got free haircuts! Both of us.” Holden announced.

 I could see that.

 “How did you guys manage that?”

They proceeded to tell me how they rapped for their haircuts. Their idea. They ran out of money at the Taco Bell and asked the manager if he would consider giving them some more food if they could do some good free-style rap for him. He agreed.

As they walked by the local Great Clips, they challenged each other to try for haircuts. The bored stylists cut their hair because they did such a great job.

The haircuts were decent. I was impressed with their ingenuity and drive.

2 Comments

Filed under Family, The Intenational Mom

2 responses to “Trading Out

  1. Thanks and you’re welcome. Please visit again!

  2. I don’t know which impresses me more — the resourcefulness and imagination displayed by your son and his buddy, or your commendable insistence on responsibility and independence. Thanks for sharing this story!

Leave a Reply

